Induction criteria

The guidelines set out below are the principle parameters considered by the ARIA Board when determining inductees to the ARIA Hall of Fame.

  1. The ARIA Hall of Fame recognises all categories of recorded music;
  2. The nominees' careers must have commenced, and ideally achieved significant prominence, at least 20 years prior to the year of proposed induction;
  3. Membership into the ARIA Hall of Fame is reserved exclusively for the creators of recorded music - the writers, the recording artists, and in some cases, the producers;
  4. The nominees must be responsible for a significant body of recorded work;
  5. The nominees work to have had a cultural impact within Australia and/or recognition within the world marketplace.


Previous inductees

1988 Dame Joan Sutherland, Johnny O'Keefe, Slim Dusty, Col Joye, Vanda & Young, AC/DC
1989 Dame Nellie Melba, Ross Wilson
1990 Percy Grainger, Sherbet
1991 Billy Thorpe, Glenn Shorrock, Don Burrows, Pete Dawson
1992 Skyhooks
1993 Cold Chisel, Peter Allen
1994 Men At Work
1995 The Seekers
1996 Australian Crawl, Horrie Dargie
1997 The Bee Gees, Paul Kelly, Graeme Bell
1998 The Masters Apprentices, The Angels
1999 Richard Clapton, Jimmy Little
2001 INXS, The Saints
2002 Olivia Newton John
2003 John Farnham
2004 Little River Band
2005 Split Enz, Renee Geyer, Normie Rowe, Smoky Dawson, The Easybeats, Hunters & Collectors, Jimmy Barnes
2006 Midnight Oil, Divinyls, Rose Tattoo, Helen Reddy, Daddy Cool, Icehouse, Lobby Loyde
2007 Frank Ifield, Hoodoo Gurus, Marcia Hines, Jo Jo Zep & The Falcons, Brian Cadd, Radio Birdman, Nick Cave

Dragon, Max Merritt, Russell Morris, The Triffids

2009 John Paul Young, Mental As Anything, Little Pattie, The Dingoes, Kev Carmody

John Williamson, Models, Johnny Young, The Loved Ones, The Church

2011 Kylie Minogue, The Wiggles

Yothu Yindi


Air Supply

2014 Ian 'Molly' Meldrum and Countdown
2015 Tina Arena

Crowded House


Daryl Braithwaite

2018 Kasey Chambers
2019 Human Nature



Site Map | Search | Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright 2005- © ARIA - Australian Recording Industry Association Ltd. All rights reserved.