News 4 April 2017

Flume scores three APRA nods

D.D Dumbo, Illy and Aleyce Simmonds also among the winners.

Flume scores three APRA nods

D.D Dumbo, Illy and Aleyce Simmonds also among the winners.

After winning eight awards from eleven nominations at the 2016 ARIAs, Sydney electronic artist Flume has continued is award-winning run, taking home three awards at the APRA Awards in Sydney last night (3 April).

Flume – aka Harley Streten – took out the Song Of The Year, Most Played Australian Work and Dance Work Of The Year gongs, the latter two coming for the track ‘Never Be Like You’ (#1 Feb. ’16), which features Canadian Kai as vocalist.

Victorian multi-instrumentalist Oliver Perry, who performs under the name D.D Dumbo, won Song Of The Year for ‘Satan’. The track featured on D.D Dumbo’s debut album Utopia Defeated (#20 Oct. ’16).

Also a winner of several ARIAs in 2016, Perth’s Troye Sivan received this year’s APRA award for Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year.

Illy’s ‘Paper Cuts’ took home Urban Work of the Year. The Vera Blue-featured track was the lead single from Illy’s fifth studio album Two Degrees (#1 Nov. ’16), and became Illy’s highest charting single to date when it peaked at #2 in August 2016.

After scoring her first top 50 appearance on the ARIA Albums Chart earlier in the year with More Than Meets The Eye (#25 Feb. ’17), country singer-songwriter Aleyce Simmonds has scored her first APRA award, winning Country Work of the Year for ‘Greatest Companion’.

Grammy Award winning multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer, Sam Dixon has received the Overseas Recognition Award. Sam’s production and songwriting credits include Adele, Sia, Christina Aguilera, Carly Rae Jepsen, Paloma Faith and Jack Savoretti. Sam is also a Golden Globe nominee and his compositions have featured on multiple Grammy, BRIT, APRA and ARIA award winning albums. 

Veteran singer-songwriter and activist Archie Roach was awarded the Ted Albert Award For Outstanding Services To Australian Music by journalist Stan Grant. The night was closed out by Paul Kelly, A.B. Original and Dan Sultan, who paid tribute to Roach with a performance of ‘Took the Children Away’.

The 2017 APRA Music Award Winners

Song Of The Year:

D.D Dumbo – Satan

Songwriter Of The Year:

Harley Streten (Flume)

Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year:

Troye Sivan

Overseas Recognition Award:

Sam Dixon

Ted Albert Award For Outstanding Services To Australian Music:

Archie Roach

Licensee Of The Year Award:

The Gov

Most Played Australian Work:

Flume Feat. Kai – Never Be Like You

Most Played Australian Work Overseas:

Vance Joy – Riptide

International Work Of The Year:

Adele – Hello

Country Work Of The Year:

Aleyce Simmonds – Greatest Companion

Blues & Roots Work Of The Year:

Robbie Miller – The Pain Artist

Dance Work Of The Year:

Flume Feat. Kai – Never Be Like You

Rock Work Of The Year:

Birds of Tokyo – I’d Go With You Anywhere

Pop Work Of The Year:

Sia – Cheap Thrills

Urban Work Of The Year:

Illy feat. Vera Blue – Papercuts