News 20 August 2021

#NewMusicFriday: Lorde, Holy Holy, Jake Bugg and more out now!

The return of the Kiwi megastar leads the 20 August releases.

#NewMusicFriday: Lorde, Holy Holy, Jake Bugg and more out now!

Two-time Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Lorde releases her third studio album Solar Power. It comes four years after Melodrama (#1 Jun ‘17), which gave her a nomination for Best International Artist at the 2017 ARIA Awards. The New Zealand artist has released three singles from the album including the title track (#14 Aug ‘21), ‘Stoned At The Nail Salon’ and ‘Mood Ring’.

Australian indie-rock band Holy Holy release their fourth studio album Hello My Beautiful World. It’s the follow-up to My Own Pool Of Light (#14 Aug ‘19), which was nominated for Best Rock Album at the 2019 ARIA Awards. Four singles from the album have been released including ‘Port Rd’, ‘How You Been’, ‘Believe Anything’ and ‘The Aftergone’.

Sydney duo Angus & Julia Stone return with their first album in four years, Life Is Strange. The follow-up to the ARIA-nominated Snow (#2 Sept. '17) is the soundtrack to popular video game Life Is Strange 3. In between duo albums, Angus released an album under the Dope Lemon moniker and Julia released her third solo album.

Melbourne band Tropical F*ck Storm release their third album, Deep States. It comes two years on from Braindrops (#10 Sept. '19), which gave the group their first Top Ten entry.

English singer-songwriter Jake Bugg releases his fifth studio album Saturday Night, Sunday Morning. Following his 2017 album Hearts That Strain, the album contains the singles ‘All I Need’ and ‘Kiss Like The Sun’.

American singer-songwriter Angel Olsen releases her latest EP Aisles, following her 2020 album Whole New Mess. The five-track EP features covers of 80s tracks by Billy Idol, Men Without Hats, Alphaville, Laura Branigan and Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark.

Dublin-based indie-folk band Villagers release their sixth studio album Fever Dreams, three years on from their album The Art Of Pretending To Swim. The album features the single ‘The First Day’.

Canadian duo DVSN and American singer Ty Dolla Sign release a collaborative album Cheers To The Best Memories. It follows Ty Dolla Sign’s 2020 album Featuring Ty Dolla Sign. DVSN is composed of singer Daniel Daley and producer Nineteen85. They’re signed to Drake's label OVO Sound. The new album features the single ‘I Believed It’, which features the late Mac Miller.

Come back next Friday to see which of these titles make it onto the ARIA Charts. Check out all of the latest charts.