News 10 September 2021

#NewMusicFriday: Gurrumul, Amyl and The Sniffers, Drapht and more out now!

There's something for everyone in the 10 September releases.

#NewMusicFriday: Gurrumul,  Amyl and The Sniffers, Drapht and more out now!

The life and legacy of the late Yolŋu musician, Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu, gets celebrated on the compilation album The Gurrumul Story. It comes three years on from the posthumous release Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow) (#1 Apr. ‘18), which was the first album in an Australian indigenous language album to top the ARIA Charts and won four ARIA Awards. The Gurrumul Story includes a reworked version of his 2008 song ‘Wiyathul’.

Melbourne punk-rock band Amyl and The Sniffers release their second studio album Comfort To Me, two years after the release of self titled album (#22 Jun ‘19). Their self-titled album won the ARIA Award for Best Rock Album in 2019. Two singles from the album have been released, ‘Guided By Angels’ and ‘Security’.

Perth hip-hop artist Drapht releases his seventh studio album, Shadows and Shinings. Three years on from Arabella Street, the new album includes collaborations with Dune Rats and Pressure from the Hilltop Hoods, among others. Drapht won the ARIA Award for Best Urban Album in 2011 and 2016.

Masked Wolf releases his debut mixtape, Astronomical. The Sydney rapper burst onto the ARIA Charts earlier in the year when the single ‘Astronaut In The Ocean’ hit #4 back in April. Astronomical also includes new single ‘Razor's Edge’, a collaboration with American band X Ambassadors.

Sydney singer-songwriter and Youth Group front man Toby Martin releases his third solo album, I Felt The Valley Lifting. The album was written while Martin and his family lived in northern England, where he collaborated with local folk, rock and Persian musicians.

American country singer-songwriter Kacey Musgraves releases her fifth studio album Star-Crossed. It follows three years after Golden Hour (#25 Apr’18), which won four Grammy Awards in 2018 including Album Of The Year and Best Country Album. Two singles from the album have been released: ‘Star-Crossed’ and ‘Justified’.

American multi-instrumentalist Andrew W.K. releases his sixth studio album God Is Partying. Three years on from his 2018 album You’re Not Alone, the new album features the singles ‘My Tower’ and ‘I’m In Heaven’.

English indie-rock band The Vaccines release their fifth studio album Back In Love City. It follows three years after their album Combat Sports. Three singles from the album have been released including title track ‘Back In Love City’, ‘Alone Star’ and ‘Headphones Baby’.

The 30th anniversary of Metallica’s The Black Album gets marked with The Metallica Blacklist. The tribute album features 53 artists including Miley Cyrus, Royal Blood, Weezer, The Chats and Phoebe Bridgers covering tracks from the original album, with 100% of proceeds going to charity.

Come back next Friday to see which of these titles make it onto the ARIA Charts. Check out all of the latest charts.