News 30 April 2021

#NewMusicFriday: Amy Shark, Julia Stone, Birdy, Big Scary and more out now!

Aussie female stars lead the releases for 30th of April!

#NewMusicFriday: Amy Shark, Julia Stone, Birdy, Big Scary and more out now!

It's #NewMusicFriday! Let's have a look what's out this week!

Cry Forever is the second studio album from multiple ARIA Award-winner Amy Shark. It features the single ‘Everybody Rise’, which won Best Pop Release at the 2020 ARIA Awards. The 13-track album also features singles 'C’mon' featuring Blink-182 drummer Travis Barker, the Ed Sheeran co-write ‘Love Songs Ain’t For Us’ featuring Keith Urban, ‘Baby Steps’ and ‘Amy Shark’. 

ARIA Award-winning folk singer-songwriter Julia Stone releases her third solo album Sixty Summers. Emerging from the wildernesses of folk and indie-rock, with Sixty Summers Stone dives headfirst into the cosmopolitan, hedonistic world of late-night, moonlit pop. The 14 track album includes the already-released ‘We All Have’ featuring The National's Matt Berninger and ‘Fire in Me’.

After having a five year break from recording, English singer-songwriter Birdy returns with new album Young Heart. The album is quite the departure from Birdy’s previous album, 2015’s Beautiful Lies. Where Beautiful Lies was a fairytale, Young Heart is a gritty realist portrait of the artist in pain, looking for the light.

Beloved Melbourne duo Big Scary release their fourth album Daisy alongside new single 'Stay!'. The duo released their first LP Vacation in 2011 and their most recent Animal in 2016. Over their storied career as Big Scary, they have collected an Australian Music Prize, several ARIA and J Award noms, sold out countless headline shows, played the nation’s largest festival stages, achieved a Top 10 ARIA Chart debut and won the hearts of fans worldwide.

French heavy metal band Gojira release their first album in five years, Fortitude! It’s the follow-up to 2016’s Grammy-nominated LP Magma, which gave them their highest ever chart appearance in Australia.

Scottish indie legends Teenage Fanclub release their 11th studio album Endless Arcade. The album is the band's first since the departure of co-founder Gerard Love in late-2018 and their first with former Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci member Euros Childs.

English rock duo Royal Blood release their third studio album Typhoons. Recorded throughout 2019 and 2020, the album marks a notable shift in the band's sound, bringig in elements of dance-rock and disco to their hard rock sound. The 12-track album features the already-released singles ‘Trouble’s Coming’, ‘Typhoons’ and ‘Limbo’.

Liverpool five-piece The Coral release their 10th album, Coral Island. The mammoth 24-track LP is their first double album and features already released single ‘Faceless Angel’

Come back next week to see which of these albums made it to the ARIA Charts. Check out all the latest charts.