News 17 June 2022

BTS debuts #1 on the Album Chart

Debuts by Vance Joy, George Ezra and more!

BTS debuts #1 on the Album Chart

Following the announce of their indefinite hiatus, K-Pop sensations BTS debut at #1 with their anthology album Proof. Proof is the third compilation album from the band and their first to debut at #1. They’ve previously held the top spot with studio albums Map Of The Soul: Personal (Apr. 19) and Map Of The Soul: 7 (Mar. 20). Proof is a 48-track compilation featuring many fan-favourites including ‘Boy With Luv’ featuring Halsey and their debut single ‘No More Dream’. In addition to the album, BTS will also be releasing a third disc, available in physical format only with several unreleased demos of both solo and group tracks. 

Australian gem Vance Joy releases his third studio album In Our Own Sweet Time. In Our Own Sweet Time has been three years in the making and follows on from Joy’s 2018 album Nation Of Two which earned him the ARIA Award for ‘Best Adult Contemporary’ in the same year. In Our Own Sweet Time also comes in at #1 on the Australian Album Charts. This is Vance Joy’s third Top Ten debut in the ARIA Album Charts with previous albums Nation of Two (Mar. 18) and Dream Your Life Away (Sep. 14) both debuting at #1 week of release.

Originally released 22 April 2022, King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard make a chart re-entry at #3 following the release of Omnium Gatherum on vinyl. Omnium Gatherum is the psychedelic rock band’s 20th studio album and originally debuted at # 49 on the ARIA Albums Chart.

British singer-songwriter George Ezra takes out his third Top Ten ARIA Chart debut with Gold Rush Kid debuting at #10 this week. Gold Rush Kid follows on from Staying at Tamara’s (Mar. 18) which peaked at #7 and has since gone Gold in Australia and Wanted On Voyage (Jun. 14) which peaked at #4 and has since received platinum accreditation.   

American metalcore outfit Motionless In White take out a career peak by debuting at #14 with their sixth album Scoring The End Of The World. Motionless In White have previously charted with Disguise (Jun.19) at #32, Graveyard Shift (May.17) at #35 and Reincarnate (Sep. 14) at #19.

XXXTenacion debuts at #15 with Look At Me: The Album the audio accompaniment to the latest Hulu documentary Look At Me: XXXTenacion. The album features 25 songs split into 2 sides - Side A compiled of 11 of XXX’s earliest recordings making their first official streaming release and Side B made up of 13 of his biggest songs including ‘Look At Me’, ‘SAD!’, ‘Jocelyn Flores’ and ‘Moonlight’. 

American country singer Carrie Underwood’s latest album Denim & Rhinestones comes in at #21. Co-produced by David Garcia, who also produced her critically acclaimed album Cry Pretty (2018), Denim & Rhinestones is Underwood’s ninth studio album. Denim & Rhinestones also comes in at #1 on the ARIA Country Albums Charts.