News 24 October 2020

Guy Sebastian claims third ARIA #1 album with T. R. U. T. H.

Plus, debuts for Skegss, Eagles, BTS and more!

Guy Sebastian claims third ARIA #1 album with T. R. U. T. H.

Releasing T. R. U. T. H., his ninth studio album, Guy Sebastian takes out his third #1 on the ARIA Albums Chart. The singer-songwriter’s follow-up to Conscious (#4 Nov. ’17) includes the singles ‘Before I Go’ (#43 Jan. ’19), ‘Standing With You’ (#10 Jul. ’20) and 2019 ARIA Song Of The Year winner ‘Choir’ (#7 Jul. ’19). Sebastian previously topped the Albums Chart with Just As I Am (#1 Dec. ’03) and Armageddon (#1 Dec. ’12).

Upon hearing the news, Guy Sebastian said, “What a journey it’s been. I still can’t believe that one of the most personal albums I have released has resonated with so many people. 

“It has been quite an extraordinary year for everyone, and I am really humbled that these songs have connected and helped along the way. Thank you to Denis Handlin, Pat Handlin and my Sony Music Family as well as Jen Fontaine and her Private Idaho team and everyone who has supported this album. I am forever grateful.”

Dan Rosen, CEO of ARIA, said, “A huge congratulations to Guy Sebastian on his return to the top of the ARIA Chart. He continues to deliver incredible music, and well into his second decade in the industry he is at the height of his powers. It has all been done with hard work, creativity and talent. He is always one to give back, as showed last year hosting our ARIA Awards. I am absolutely thrilled to see him back at Number One.”

T. R. U. T. H. is the thirteenth Australian album to hit #1 on the ARIA Charts in 2020.

Byron Bay garage rock trio Skegss grab their second Top Ten entry with 50 Push Ups For A Dollar. The EP was originally released in 2015 and included the singles ‘Fun’ and ‘Eat It’. The band first appeared in the chart with My Own Mess (#2 Sept. ’18), which was nominated for Best Rock Album at the 2019 ARIA Awards. 50 Push Ups For A Dollar is #1 on this week’s ARIA Vinyl Albums Chart.

In the week they announced their forthcoming Unreleased collection of rarities (coming out in November), Powderfinger have returned to the Top Ten with their #1 album from 2000. Odyssey Number Five hit the chart again at #2 in September when it was reissued. It’s #2 on the Vinyl Albums Chart, while the Brisbane band’s second album, Double Allergic (1996) is at #3, and third album Internationalist (1998) is at #7.

At #22, rock veterans the Eagles release the new live album, Live From The Forum MMXVIII. Recorded at The Forum in Los Angeles over three nights in September 2018, it’s the band’s first release to feature new members Deacon Frey (son of the late Eagles co-founder Glenn Frey) and country artist Vince Gill along with Don Henley, Joe Walsh, and Timothy B. Schmit. The Eagles previously charted with the live album Hell Freezes Over (#23 Nov. ’94).

K-pop superstars BTS score their third Albums Chart entry for 2020 as they hit #23 with the re-release of their second EP Skool Luv Affair. Originally released in 2014, the EP peaked at #1 in South Korea. It has been reissued now due to fan demand. BTS also charted this year with Map Of The Soul: 7 (#1 Mar. ’20) and Map Of The Soul: 7 ~The Journey~ (#9 Jul. ’20).

Country singer-songwriter Angus Gill takes out a new Top 50 peak as he debuts at #28 with 3 Minute Movie. Coming a year on from Welcome To My Heart (#47 Sept. ’19), the new album features the backing band Seasons Of Change, which features members of Paul Kelly’s band including Peter ‘Lucky’ Luscombe (The Black Sorrows, Rockwiz), Ashley Naylor (Even, Rockwiz) and Dan Kelly (Dan Kelly & The Alpha Males). Steve Earle guests on one track.

The National’s front man Matt Berninger releases his debut solo album, Serpentine Prison and debuts at #32. It comes just over a year on from his band’s eighth album, I Am Easy to Find (#6 May ’19). An array of artists collaborated on the album including Booker T Jones (Booker T & The MGs), Gail Ann Dorsey (David Bowie, Lenny Kravitz), singer-songwriter Andrew Bird and several of his National bandmates.