News 20 November 2020

#NewMusicFriday: BTS, King Gizzard, Something For Kate and Tim Minchin out now

Plus new releases from Nick Cave and Megan Thee Stallion

#NewMusicFriday: BTS, King Gizzard, Something For Kate and Tim Minchin out now

It’s #NewMusicFriday! Check out these latest releases.

South Korean boyband BTS have released their ninth album Be. The seven-piece band debuted in 2013 and have developed a fanbase across the world. The bands previous album ‘Map of the Soul:7’, released February 2020, peaked at #1 on the ARIA Album Charts. BTS have previously collaborated with artists such as Charli XCX, The Chainsmokers and Halsey.

Australian psychedelic rock band, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard have released their sixteenth studio album K.G. The album features the single ‘Automation’ that was released for free on their website. The band are nominated for two ARIA’s this year: Best Australian Live Act, and Best Hard Rock or Heavy Metal Album for their previous release ‘Chunky Shrapnel’ (#2 July ’20).

Something For Kate return with a new album The Modern Medieval. It’s album number 7 for the much loved alt-rock trio, and their first album in eight years.

Australian musician Tim Minchin has released his debut studio album Apart Together. Tim has previously released live albums and is most well-known for his comedy releases, and his work on stage shows such as ‘Matilda the Musical’. 

American rapper Megan Thee Stallion has released her debut album Good News. The rapper is most well-known for her singles ‘Hot Girl Summer’ (#64 August ’19) and ‘Savage’ (#4 May ’20) which went viral on the app TikTok. The album includes the ‘Savage (Remix)’ featuring Beyoncé.

American rock band The War On Drugs have released their live album Live Drugs. The album includes 10 tracks that have been selected from 40 live recordings during the band’s tours. The album includes tracks ‘Red Eyes’, ‘Buenos Aires Beach’ and ‘Strangest Thing’.

Nick Cave has released the live album Idiot Prayer: Nick Cave Alone at Alexandra Palace which is accompanied by a concert film. The show features Nick Cave performing solo and was streamed globally during lockdown in July 2020. The album will include tracks ‘Idiot Prayer’, ‘Galleon Ship’ and ‘Euthanasia’. 

What will make it into the ARIA Charts next week? Come back next Saturday to find out