News 3 March 2018

Vance Joy scores second #1 album

Debuts for Sarah Blasko, Augie March and more!

Vance Joy scores second #1 album

Debuts for Sarah Blasko, Augie March and more!

Nation Of Two by Vance Joy becomes the first Australian #1 on the ARIA Albums Chart in 2018 as it debuts in the top spot on this week’s chart.

Kicking off his Australian tour in Perth this weekend, Ed Sheeran holds three spots in this week’s top 20: ÷ remains at #3 this week, while X is up two to #8 and + jumps eight spots to #12.

Gang Of Youths’ Go Farther In Lightness jumps up five spots to #14.

Currently on tour nationally with Adam Lambert, Queen moves up eleven to #29 with Greatest Hits.

Fall Out Boy’s Mania is up eleven to #32 as the band continue their run of shows across Australia.

After debuting at #5 last week with Good Mood, Ball Park Music have picked up a second entry in the top 50 this week as Happiness And Surrounding Suburbs re-enters at #43.


#1: Vance Joy ‘Nation Of Two’ – Melbourne singer-songwriter Vance Joy scores his second #1 on the ARIA Albums Chart with Nation Of Two. The follow-up to debut Dream Your Life Away (#1 Sept. ’14) features the singles ‘Lay It On Me’ (#18 Sept. ’17) and ‘We’re Going Home’ (#16 Mar. ’18). Vance Joy will be touring nationally in support of the album in September. Dream Your Life Away is up eight spots this week to #18.

#5: Sarah Blasko ‘Depth Of Field’ – With her sixth studio album, Sarah Blasko takes out a fifth top ten on the ARIA Albums Chart. Depth Of Field comes two and half years on from Eternal Return (#6 Nov. ’15). Much of Depth Of Field was written and recorded during a two-week artist residency at Campbelltown Arts Centre in Sydney. The recording was captured in the documentary Blasko, which aired on ABC TV last November. Sarah Blasko has also charted in the top ten with What The Sea Wants, The Sea Will Have (#7 Oct. ’06), As Day Follows Night (#5 Jul. ’09) and I Awake (#9 Nov. ’12).

#11: 6ix9ine ‘Day69’ – American rapper 6ix9ine makes his Albums Chart debut with the mixtape Day69. The release includes guest appearances by Fetty Wap, Young Thug and more.

#20: Augie March ‘Bootikins’ – Melbourne’s Augie March return with their first album in four years, Bootikins. The follow-up to Havens Dumb (#14 Oct. ’14) is the group’s sixth album and gives them a sixth entry in the ARIA top 50. Augie March’s highest peak to date on the Albums Chart was with Watch Me Disappear (#4 Oct. ’08).