News 22 April 2022

#NewMusicFriday: Daniel Johns, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, Hatchie and more out now!

22 April is a bumper day for new Australian albums!

#NewMusicFriday: Daniel Johns, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, Hatchie and more out now!

Former Silverchair front man Daniel Johns releases his second solo album, FutureNever. The new album comes seven years on from previous solo album, Talk (#2 Jun. ‘15) and is being released on Johns’ birthday. So far, no singles have been released from the album.

Melbourne six-piece King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard release Omnium Gatherum, their 20th studio album. It's the band’s first double album and their second album to be released in 2022 after Made In Timeland, which dropped in March. Singles released from Omnium Gatherum include ‘The Dripping Tap’ and ‘Magenta Mountain’.

Brisbane dream-pop artist Hatchie returns with Giving the World Away. Hatchie’s second album comes three years on from her debut, Keepsake (#25 Jul. ‘19). It includes the singles ‘This Enchanted’, ‘Quicksand’ and ‘Lights On’.

Sydney psychedelic band The Lazy Eyes release SongBook, their debut album. The quartet have previously released two EPs: EP1 (2020) and EP2 (2021). SongBook includes the singles ‘Hippo’ and ‘Starting Over’.

Irish post-punk band Fontaines D.C. return with Skinty Fia, their third album. The band’s previous album, A Hero's Death (#26 Aug. ‘20), was nominated for a Grammy and became their first chart appearance in Australia. Skinty Fia includes the singles ‘Jackie Down the Line’ and ‘I Love You’.

Six years on from her last album, singer-songwriter Lisa Mitchell releases A Place to Fall Apart. Mitchell’s fourth album includes the singles ‘Zombie’, ‘I Believe in Kindness’ and ‘Summoning’. Her three previous albums all charted in the ARIA Top Ten.

Sydney metalcore band Northlane release Obsidian, their sixth studio album. It’s the follow-up to Alien (#3 Aug. ‘19), which won Best Hard Rock or Heavy Metal Album at the 2019 ARIA Awards. Obsidian includes the singles ‘Plenty’ and ‘Carbonized’.

Melbourne nu-metal band Ocean Grove return with Up in the Air Forever. The group’s third album comes two years on from Flip Phone Fantasy (#8 Mar. ‘20). It’s been preceded by the singles ‘Cali Sun’, ‘Silver Lining’ and ‘Sex Dope Gold’.

Perth’s Psychedelic Porn Crumpets come back with their fifth album Night Gnomes. The new release gets dropped just over a year on from Shyga! The Sunlight Mound, which became their first ARIA Top Ten hit. Night Gnomes includes the singles ‘Acid Dent’ and ‘Bob Holiday’.

Space rock icons Spiritualized release their ninth album, Everything Was Beautiful. Coming four years on from 2018’s And Nothing Hurt, the new release features ‘Always Together With You’ and ‘Crazy’.

Come back next Friday to see which of these titles make it onto the ARIA Charts. Check out all of the latest charts.