News 22 October 2021

#NewMusicFriday: RÜFÜS DU SOL, Lana Del Rey, Good Morning and more out now!

There's something for everyone in the 22 October releases!

#NewMusicFriday: RÜFÜS DU SOL, Lana Del Rey, Good Morning and more out now!

Sydney dance trio RÜFÜS DU SOL release their fourth studio album, Surrender. Coming three years on from Solace (#2 Oct. ‘18), it features the singles ‘Alive’, ‘Next To Me’ and ‘On My Knees’.

Melbourne duo Good Morning return with their sixth studio album, Barnyard. It was recorded at The Loft, the studio space belonging to American indie rock heroes Wilco. It’s the follow-up to 2019’s Basketball Breakups.

Synth-pop veterans Duran Duran return with their 15th studio album, Future Past. Co-produced by the band with Mark Ronson, Giorgio Moroder and Erol Alkan, it includes guest appearances by Tove Lo, Japanese band Chai, and David Bowie pianist Mike Garson. It features guitar by Blur's Graham Coxon.

Melbourne rock band Mod Con return with Modern Condition. It’s the trio’s follow-up to their 2018 debut Modern Convenience. Band member Erica Dunn also plays in ARIA-nominated band Tropical Fuck Storm.

Lana Del Rey releases her second album for 2021, Blue Banisters. The follow-up to Chemtrails Over The Country Club (#2 Mar. ‘21) is the singer-songwriter’s eighth studio album. It includes the singles ‘Text Book’, ‘Wildflower Wildfire’ and ‘Arcadia’.

Sir Elton John adjusts to the new normal with his latest release of The Lockdown Sessions. The collaborations feature the likes of Dua Lipa, Pnau, Miley Cyrus, Eddie Vedder, Lil Nas X, Charlie Puth, Gorillaz, Stevie Wonder, Stevie Nicks, Young Thug and Nicki Minaj and more. It includes the current single ‘Cold Heart’ (#2 Oct. ‘21).

Scottish rock band Biffy Clyro return with The Myth of the Happily Ever After. It’s the trio’s ninth album, coming just over a year on from A Celebration Of Endings (#21 Aug. ‘20). The new album is being touted by the band as the “sister album” to their previous release.

American indie rock veterans My Morning Jacket release their self-titled ninth album. Coming a year on from The Waterfall II, it’s the band’s first album of entirely new material since 2015’s The Waterfall.

The American garage rock band Parquet Courts release Sympathy for Life. The seventh album from the quartet comes three years on from 2018’s Wide Awake! and marks their biggest gap between albums, having previously released seven in eight years.

The Rolling Stones’ hit 1981 album Tattoo You gets the reissue treatment to mark its 40th Anniversary. The album, which includes ‘Start Me Up’ and ‘Waiting On A Friend’, will reappear in a number of formats including unreleased and live tracks.

Come back next Friday to see which of these titles make it onto the ARIA Charts. Check out all of the latest charts.