News 16 July 2021

#NewMusicFriday: Tones And I, Chet Faker, John Mayer and more out now!

A host of new music to check out on 16 July.

#NewMusicFriday: Tones And I, Chet Faker, John Mayer and more out now!

Four-time ARIA Award winner Tones and I releases her debut studio album, Welcome To The Madhouse. The singer-songwriter scored record-breaking success with her 15x Platinum single ‘Dance Monkey’(#1 Aug ‘19) which spent 24 weeks at #1 during 2019/20, breaking the Australian record for number of weeks at #1 on the ARIA Singles Chart. The follow up to the EP The Kids Are Coming (#3 Sep ‘19) features the singles, ‘Cloudy Day’ (#45 Jul ‘21) and ‘Fly Away’ (#4 Feb ‘21). Tones and I - real name Toni Watson - was the 2019 ARIA Award Winner of Best Female Artist, Breakthrough Artist, Best Pop Release and Best Independent Release.

Five-time ARIA Award-winning artist Nick Murphy returns as Chet Faker. Seven years after the release of his platinum album Built On Glass (#1 May ‘14), the Melbourne singer-songwriter releases his second album under the pseudonym, Hotel Surrender. In 2020, he released Music For Silence under his real name. Four singles from the album have been released including, ‘Low’, ‘Get High’, ‘Whatever Tomorrow’ and ‘Feel Good’.

British rapper/YouTuber KSI releases his second studio album All Over The Place. It comes just over a year on from his debut album Dissimulation (#4 Jun ‘20) and includes current single ‘Holiday’ (#21 Jun ‘21). Contributing artists include Future, 21 Savage, Yungblud and Bugzy Malone

American singer-songwriter John Mayer releases his eighth studio album Sob Rock. Four years since The Search For Everything (#5 Apr ‘17), it includes the singles ‘New Light’, ‘I Guess I Just Feel Like’, ‘Carry Me Away’ and ‘Last Train Home’.

Clairo releases her second studio album Sling. It’s the follow-up to the American singer-songwriter’s debut album Immunity. Lead single ‘Blouse’ features background vocals from Lorde and production by Jack Antonoff

American singer-songwriter, rapper and actress Willow Smith releases her fourth studio album Lately I Feel Everything following her self titled 2017 album WILLOW.  The new album features guest artists Tierra Whack and Avril Lavinge

American indie-punk rock band Wavves release their seventh studio album HIDEAWAY. The follow-up to their 2017 album You’re Welcome, includes singles ‘Sinking Feeling’, ‘Help Is On The Way’, ‘Hideaway’ and ‘Caviar’. Led by Nathan Williams, the band’s new album was produced by Dave Sitek.

Canadian indie rockers The Zolas release their fourth studio album Come Back To Life. Featuring Zachary Gray and Tom Dobrzanski, it's the follow-up to the band's 2016 release Swooner and features the singles ‘Energy Czar’ and 'Ultramarine'.

Come back next Friday to see which of these titles make it onto the ARIA Charts. Check out all of the latest charts.