News 1 October 2014

ARIA Announce the Fine Arts & Artisan Nominees for 2014 and Unveils Commemorative Artwork by inconic Australian artist, Ken Done

The first ARIA Awards for 2014 will proudly be pre

ARIA Announce the Fine Arts & Artisan Nominees for 2014 and Unveils Commemorative Artwork by inconic Australian artist, Ken Done
The first ARIA Awards for 2014 will proudly be presented at the official ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra NOMINATIONS EVENT in Sydney on Tuesday, October 7 at the Art Gallery of NSW.

ARIA Chairman and Chairman & CEO Australia & New Zealand, and President, Asia, Sony Music Entertainment, Denis Handlin AM, said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees in the Fine Arts and Artisan Awards. ARIA is delighted to present these awards and to recognise the highly talented Australian musicians and artisans across the diversity of the seven award categories.” 

This celebration honours our impressive 2014 ARIA Nominees for the FINE ARTS & ARTISAN Award categories including; Best Classical Album, Best Jazz Album, Best Original Soundtrack/Cast/Show Album, Best World Music Album along with Producer Of The Year, Engineer Of the Year and Best Cover Art. The  FINE ARTS & ARTISAN Award categories herald the beginning of the 2014 ARIA celebrations leading up to ARIA Week festivities from November 21 and the 2014 ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra on Wednesday, November 26 at The Star Event Centre, Sydney that will be broadcast on TEN.

ARIA is honoured to have iconic Australian artist, Ken Done design the official 2014 ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra commemorative artwork. ARIA launched the first commemorative artwork last year, designed by much-loved Australian artist and Hall Of Fame recipient, Reg Mombassa, and is thrilled to announce that this year, Ken Done will be a special guest at the Nominations Event to present the Best Cover Art recipient with their ARIA Award.

Since his first solo exhibition in 1980, Ken Done has become one of Australia’s most famous artists. In 1992, Ken received the Order of Australia (A.M.), for services to Art, Design and Tourism. In many parts of the world, Ken Done has come to symbolise Australia and Australians: creative, optimistic and bold are attributes that he has captured perfectly with the 2014 ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra commemorative artwork, honouring Australia’s best musicians since 1987.

ARIA CEO, Dan Rosen added: “We are very excited to be launching the 28th Annual ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra celebrations by recognising the incredible nominees for The Fine Arts and Artisan Awards. These talented artists, musicians, producers and engineers lay the foundation for our ARIA Awards and embody the creative spirit that represents the Australian music industry. We are also delighted to welcome iconic Australian artist, Ken Done to the ARIAs this year. Ken has created some incredible iconic Australian imagery throughout his career and we are very fortunate to have had his talent and creativity involved in designing this year's ARIAs poster.”

The ARIA Awards and ARIA Week are proudly supported by the NSW Government, through its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW.

Click here to download 2014 ARIA Awards Connected By Telstra Artwork designed by Ken Done (A.M.)

Best Classical Album (7 finalists)
Australian World Orchestra / Zubin Mehta - Stravinsky Rite of Spring / Mahler Symphony No.1 (ABC Classics/Universal Music Australia)
Emma Matthews / Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra / Marko Letonja - Mozart Arias (ABC Classics/UMA)
Joe Chindamo & Zoe Black - Dido's Lament (Mo'OzArt/The Planet Company)
Latitude 37 - Empires (ABC Classics/Universal Music Australia)
Lior / Sydney Symphony Orchestra / Nigel Westlake – Compassion (ABC Classics /Universal Music Australia)
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra / Andrew Macleod / Benjamin Northey / Markus Stenz - Adès Polaris / Stanhope Piccolo Concerto
(ABC Classics/Universal Music Australia)
Topology - Share House (Independent/MGM)
Best Jazz Album
Andrea Keller Quartet with Strings - Wave Rider (Jazzhead/MGM)
Emma Pask - Season Of My Heart (Mercury Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)
Graeme Lyall, John Hoffman, Tony Gould, Ben Robertson, Tony Floyd - The Hunters & Pointers (Which Way Music/Fuse Group)
Paul Grabowsky Sextet - The Bitter Suite (ABC Jazz/UMA)
Vince Jones - The Monash Sessions (Jazzhead/MGM)
Best Original Soundtrack / Cast / Show Album
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu / Sydney Symphony Orchestra – Gurrumul : His Life And Music (ABC Music/UMA)
Glenn Shorrock & Brian Cadd - The Story of Sharky and The Caddman (FANFARE CLASSIC/EMI)
Katie Noonan - Fierce Hearts (Kin Music/Universal Music Australia)
Various Artists - Spirit Of Akasha (Warner Music Australia)
Various Artists - triple j's One Night Stand: Mildura (ABC Music/UMA)
Best World Music Album
Astronomy Class - Mekong Delta Sunrise (Elefant Traks/Inertia Music)
Jane Rutter - Flute Spirit: Dreams and Improvisations (ABC Classics/UMA)
Joseph Tawadros - Permission to Evaporate (ABC Music/UMA)
The Barons of Tang - Into The Mouths of Hungry Giants (Bird's Robe Records/MGM)
William Barton - Birdsong at Dusk (ABC Classics/UMA)
Engineer of the Year (6 finalists)
Dustin Tebbutt for Dustin Tebbutt - Bones EP (Eleven: a music company Pty Ltd/UMA)
Eric J Dubowsky for Chet Faker - Built On Glass (Future Classic)
Matthew Lambert and Barry Francis for Hilltop Hoods - Walking Under Stars (Golden Era Records/Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)
Nicholas Wilson and Dann Hume for Sticky Fingers - Land Of Pleasure (Sureshaker/MGM)
Paul McKercher for Andy Bull - Sea Of Approval (Island Records Australia/Universal Music Australia)
Virginia Read for Simon Tedeschi, James Morrison, Sarah McKenzie - Gershwin: Take Two (ABC Jazz/UMA)
Producer Of The Year 
Alex JL Hiew and SLUMS for Troye Sivan - TRXYE (EMI)
Dann Hume for Sticky Fingers - Land Of Pleasure (Sureshaker/MGM)
John Castle and Josh Pyke for Josh Pyke - The Beginning and the End of Everything (Ivy League Records)
Nicholas Murphy for Chet Faker - Built On Glass (Future Classic)
Stuart Stuart for Sheppard - Bombs Away (Empire of Song/Chugg Music/MGM Distribution)
Best Cover Art
Angus & Julia Stone for Angus & Julia Stone - Angus & Julia Stone (EMI)
Celeste Potter for DZ Deathrays - Black Rat (I Oh You/Illusive/UMA)
Sia for Sia - 1000 Forms of Fear (Inertia Recordings)
The Leonard Brothers for 360 – Utopia (Forthwrite/EMI)
Tin & Ed for Chet Faker - Built On Glass (Future Classic)
Stay tuned to for all 2014 ARIA Awards connected by Telstra updates.

View the list of this year's nominees with artwork and artist links here