News 23 April 2016

Disturbed return to #1 with Immortalized

Debuts for PJ Harvey, Santana, Josh Groban and more!

Disturbed return to #1 with Immortalized

Debuts for PJ Harvey, Santana, Josh Groban and more!

American band Disturbed have returned to #1 on the ARIA Albums Chart for a second week with their sixth studio album Immortalized. Debuting at #1 in August 2015, the album’s return to the top spot is thanks to the success of the band’s cover of the Simon & Garfunkel track ‘The Sound Of Silence’ (#4 Apr. ’16).

Three Australian acts have made moves up the top ten this week: Hilltop Hoods’ Drinking From The Sun, Walking Under Stars Restrung (up four to #7), Rüfüs’ Bloom (up 26 to #5) and Sia’s This Is Acting (up five to #9).


#7: PJ Harvey ‘The Hope Six Demolition Project’ – British singer-songwriter PJ Harvey picks up her second top ten appearance with The Hope Six Demolition Project. Harvey’s first album in five years is the follow-up to Let England Shake (#6 Feb. ’11) and was recorded in sessions open to the public as part of an art installation at Somerset House in London called Recording in Progress.

#8: Marina Prior & Mark Vincent ‘Together’ – Soprano Marina Prior and tenor Mark Vincent team up for Together. The duets album features their take on tracks such as ‘Time To Say Goodbye’ and ‘La Vie En Rose’. Prior last charted with Candlelight Christmas (#46 Dec. ’13), while Vincent was last on the chart with Best So Far (#15 May ’14).

#11: Santana ‘Santana IV’ – Recording for the first time since 1971, the members of the classic line-up of Santana reunite with Santana IV. It’s the first album released under the Santana name since Guitar Heaven: The Greatest Guitar Classics Of All Time (#5 Sept. ’10) and the first by this line-up since Santana III.

#17: Josh Groban ‘Stages (Live) – This live companion to Josh Groban's 2015 album Stages (#2 May ’15), debuted at #76 last week. It was recorded at the Los Angeles Theater and features duets with Kelly Clarkson and Tony Award winner Audra McDonald.

#21: Mirusia ‘This Time Tomorrow’ – The latest album from Australian soprano Mirusia Louwerse. It features tracks made famous in stage musicals and movies such as ‘Don't Cry For Me Argentina’ (Evita), ‘Colours Of The Wind’ (Pocahontas), ‘Tomorrow’ (Annie). Her DVD Always & Forever previously spent four weeks at #1 on the ARIA DVD Chart in 2011.

#41: André Rieu, Johann Strauss Orchestra ‘Magic Of The Waltz’ – A new chart entry from Dutch violinist and conductor André Rieu. Magic Of The Waltz features ‘Windsor Waltz’ written for the occasion of Queen Elizabeth II's 90th birthday. Rieu last charted with Roman Holiday (#39 Nov. ’15).

#42: Various ‘Eurovision Song Contest Stockholm 2016’ – Ahead of 61st running of the Eurovision Song Contest, the album featuring all 43 competing songs has hit the top 50 for the first time. The album includes Dami Im’s Australian entry ‘Sound Of Silence’.