News 13 May 2022

FutureNever lands Daniel Johns first solo ARIA #1 album

Top Ten debuts for Jack Harlow, Alison Wonderland and Stand Atlantic.

FutureNever lands Daniel Johns first solo ARIA #1 album

In its third week on the ARIA Albums Chart, Daniel JohnsFutureNever hits #1 for the first time. The ascent to the top spot by Johns’ second solo album comes following the release of limited-edition versions on cassette. John’s first solo #1 becomes his sixth career chart-topper after hitting #1 with the Silverchair albums Frogstomp (#1 Apr. ’95), Freak Show (#1 Feb. ’97), Neon Ballroom (#1 Mar. ’99), Diorama (#1 Apr. ‘02) and Young Modern (#1 Apr. ’07). FutureNever is the sixth Australian #1 album on the ARIA Charts in 2022.

Daniel Johns said: “I’m genuinely shocked and completely humbled to hear the news that FutureNever is #1 on the ARIA Charts particularly in the 3rd week of release. I’ve been working so hard on myself over the last 7 weeks that I’ve been a little disconnected from the activity around the album. I believe in this album so much and I cannot convey the level of gratitude I have for the people who are supporting the music in such profound ways. Thank you from the bottom of my heart- I love and miss you all.”

ARIA Chief Executive Officer, Annabelle Herd, said: “A huge congratulations to Daniel Johns on hitting #1 on this week’s ARIA Albums Chart. It’s a rare achievement for an album to crack the top spot beyond its first week. This speaks volumes about the passion of Daniel’s fanbase and his team.”

Jack Harlow scores his first ARIA Top Ten entry as he debuts at #2 with Come Home The Kids Miss You. The American rapper’s second album comes 18 months on from his debut, Thats What They All Say (#36 Apr. ’22) and features appearances by Pharrell Williams, Drake, Justin Timberlake and Lil Wayne. Come Home The Kids Miss You includes the single ‘First Class’, which spent two weeks at #1 in April. Two tracks from the album debut in this week’s Top 50, plus previous single ‘Nail Tech’ re-enters at #38.

Sydney electronic producer Alison Wonderland takes out her third ARIA Top Ten entry as she debuts at #9 with Loner. It’s Wonderland’s third studio album and comes four years on from Awake (#7 Apr. ’18), which earned her two ARIA Awards nominations.

Stand Atlantic claim their first ARIA Top Ten entry as they debut at #10 with F.E.A.R. The Sydney pop-punk band’s third album is the follow-up to Pink Elephant (#23 Aug. ’20). F.E.A.R. debuts at #2 on this week’s ARIA Vinyl Albums Chart.

Releasing We, their first album in five years, Canadian band Arcade Fire debut at #11. The follow-up to Everything Now (#2 Aug. ’17) is the group’s sixth album and gives them a fifth ARIA Top 50 entry. A host of collaborators appear on the album including Peter Gabriel, Father John Misty and Portishead’s Geoff Barrow.

The Hilltop Hoods’ sixth album Drinking From The Sun returns to the chart at #12 on the back of a vinyl reissue to mark its tenth anniversary. Released in March 2012, it became the Adelaide group’s third #1 on the ARIA Charts and earned them five ARIA Award nominations, winning Best Urban Album.

Kylie Minogue scores her fourth Top 50 live album, debuting at #27 with Infinite Disco. Recorded in London, the show was originally included in the Guest List Edition of Minogue's album Disco (#1 Nov. ’20) before getting a standalone release. The ARIA Hall Of Fame member previously charted with the live albums Intimate and Live (#28 Dec. ’98), Showgirl: Homecoming Live (#28 Feb. ’07) and Golden Live in Concert (#13 Dec. ’19).

Debuting at #41 with In The Eyes Of A Child, Australian tenor Mark Vincent claims his tenth Top 50 entry. Vincent’s first album since The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year (#16 Dec. ’18). The album includes tracks made famous by the likes of Queen, Bryan Adams and Josh Groban. It’s Vincent’s first release since becoming a father for the first time.

American singer-songwriter Sharon Van Etten makes her ARIA Top 50 debut at #48 with We've Been Going About This All Wrong. Van Etten’s sixth studio album comes three years on from 2019’s Remind Me Tomorrow and was released with no prior singles.