News 26 March 2016

Waco gives Violent Soho first ARIA #1

Debuts for Iggy Pop, Gwen Stefani, The Drones, Koi Child and more!

Waco gives Violent Soho first ARIA #1

Debuts for Iggy Pop, Gwen Stefani, The Drones, Koi Child and more!

For the fifth successive week, there’s a new #1 on the ARIA Albums Chart. For the fourth time in those five weeks, the debut is by an Australian artist, with Brisbane’s Violent Soho taking out the top spot with fourth album Waco.

As well as a host of debuts, there’s also a lot of movement up the chart including from Sia’s This Is Acting (up 3 to #16), Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly (up 13 to #15 on the back of his tour), Disturbed’s Immortalized (up 6 to #19), Ed Sheeran’s X (up 7 to #22) and Madonna’s The Immaculate Collection (up 6 to #31 as her tour wraps up).

Further down the chart there’s a string of re-entries including Michael Jackson’s Off The Wall (#27), Phil Collins’ Hits (#30) and Troye Sivan’s Blue Neighbourhood (#39).


#1: Violent Soho ‘Waco’ – Violent Soho pick up their first ever #1 on the ARIA Charts thanks to their fourth album, Waco. The Brisbane band scored their first top ten appearance back in 2013 with their previous album, Hungry Ghost (#6 Sept. ’13). They’re previously been nominated for five ARIA Awards.

Waco is the sixth Australian album to top the ARIA Charts in 2016.

#6: Gwen Stefani ‘This Is What The Truth Feels Like’ – Gwen Stefani returns with her third solo album, This Is What The Truth Feels Like. It comes ten years on from The Sweet Escape (#2 Mar. ’07). Stefani topped the Albums Chart with her debut solo release Love, Angel, Music, Baby (#1 Feb. ’05). In between solo albums, Stefani reunited with No Doubt to release Push And Shove (#8 Oct. ’12).

#7: Iggy Pop ‘Post Pop Depression’ – Iggy Pop picks up his first appearance in the top 50 since 1993 with ‘Post Pop Depression’. Pop’s seventeenth solo album sees him team up with Queens Of The Stone Age’s Josh Homme, The Dead Weather’s Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders. The punk godfather last charted with American Caesar (#29 Nov. ’93).

#12: The Drones ‘Feelin Kinda Free’ – Melbourne band The Drones pick up their third appearance on the ARIA top 50 with Feelin Kinda Free. The group’s seventh album is their first in over a decade to feature original drummer Christian Strybosch. It’s a new peak, taking over from previous album I See Seaweed (#18 Mar. ’13).

#25: Koi Child ‘Koi Child’ – The debut album from seven-piece Fremantle hip hop/jazz outfit Koi Child. The album was recorded at a fishing-shack-turned-studio, on an island south of Perth and was produced by Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker.

#36: Underworld ‘Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future’ – UK electronic legends Underworld return with their first album in six years. Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future is their ninth studio album and the follow-up to Barking (#46 Sept. ’10). Their highest peak on the chart was with Beaucoup Fish (#7 Mar. ’99).

#34: Soundtrack ‘Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice’ – In the week of its cinema release, the soundtrack to Batman V Superman: Dawn Of Justice has debuted on the Albums Chart. The album features tracks composed by Hans Zimmer and Junkie XL, the latter of whom recently charted with Deadpool (Original Soundtrack Album) (#18 Feb. ’16).